mtbr member
    Oct 2005

Preston Bottom-out Issues

I have a 2006 large preston with Swinger 4-way coil that I have been riding for the past 6 months. Fun bike, but I have had issues with the bike bottoming out in the 5" mode on even the most meager 2-5 drops. I took some advice from this forum and went to the 4" mode in an attempt to stop the bottom out as the loud clank I hear is annoying and probably really bad for the frame and/ or shock. I weight about 205lbs and have the chock setup with the 650# spring. Anyone else have these issues? Any advice? I thought about taking the shock in to get custom tuned but before I spend the money I am trying to find out if it is just an issue due to the frame design, etc. Appreciate any help.

Chillin the Most
    Sadly this was the big issue with the 06/earlier Prestons. Judging by my calculations you'd need a 700lbs spring if you where to run 30% sag. To get 25% you'd need an 850lb.

With your 650, your using about 35% sag which is alot for such a short stroke shock and your weight.

So what I would recommend is to have your LBS order you a 750lb (largest spring Manitou makes for the 1.5 stroke) spring from Manitou, BTI is currently out of stock.

Deadhead
    Mar 2004
    I would assume you are running the piggyback adjustment all the way in. This will give you the most bottom out resistance. When I spoke with Manitou, they did't recommend running a super stiff spring on the Swinger shocks as it hampers the function of the SPV. I'm about 200lb with gear and run a 600lb spring and haven't had any problems, even when hitting some sizeable jumps/drops. I have yet to put my bike in 120mm mode though and probably never will. If its tuned properly in 100mm mode, you shouldn't ever need that extra 5/8" anyway. Good Luck
    "If you can get both wheels sliding with no brakes, that's when you really know that you're cookin." Nathan Rennie

mtbr member
    Oct 2005