Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
    mtbr member
    Oct 2007

Need Frame builder for Custom DJ bike

Hey,

My name is Rob and I am very interested in custom building a new DJ bike. I work in the industry and I have a lot of solid ideas on what I want. If there is anybody out there that can help me please reply.

Thanks

pvd
    mtbr member
    What's so special that a cheap production bike won't work? DJ bikes are pretty simple beasts.

Moderator Moderator
    Jan 2004

+1

Unless you're 400 pounds or something, go get a cheap DJ frame and ride the crap out of it. They're pretty much all good.

Seriously, custom is great in a lot of situations, but given that people on ratty 30 pound 20-inchers that cost <$500 are out there killing it every day, I have to say there's no point in a custom DJ bike. If there's any discipline in which the talent of the rider trumps the quality of the bike, it's dirtjumping.

-Walt

Quote Originally Posted by pvd
    What's so special that a cheap production bike won't work? DJ bikes are pretty simple beasts.
    Waltworks Custom Bicycles
    Park City, UT USA
    www.waltworks.com
    waltworks.blogspot.com

mtbr member
    Oct 2007
    Cause I want to do a custom bike. I spoke with Carter Holland (owner of black market bikes) about making a custom bike through S&M. He was very interested in my ideas but I wanted to do some one off custom bikes. I need somebody that can make some really nice steel bikes.

mtbr member
    Oct 2007
    Well it will be more of a 4x bike. The bikes out on the market do not offer what i am looking for. If you cant help me then don't reply.

Framebuilder
    Quote Originally Posted by turnerterror
    Well it will be more of a 4x bike. The bikes out on the market do not offer what i am looking for. If you cant help me then don't reply.
    You received logical responses based on the info you provided.
    If you can't handle a reasoned response from an established pro.....then don't ask the question.