mtbr member

Steel MTB framebuilders?

Hey frame builders/owners.

I would appreciate some names of custom steel frame builders who make a bike based around gearing(not ss) and 100mm fork, i'm a noob to custom bikes but I keep hearing how much bike built for yourself improve your comfort and performance, can't afford titanium and live down under.

Some website links would be great
    Pivot mach 6!

mtbr member
    Sep 2008
    Quote Originally Posted by Joel RW View Post

I would appreciate some names of custom steel frame builders who make a bike based around gearing(not ss) and 100mm fork, i'm a noob to custom bikes but I keep hearing how much bike built for yourself improve your comfort and performance, can't afford titanium and live down under.

There's a gigantic list of worldwide steel frame builders on this site (some of them do MTB frames, some don't):

Stahlrahmen-Bikes

mtbr member
    thanks, i came across the mtbr facebook page where they have all the nahbs bikes on display, will check out some of those brands.
    Pivot mach 6!

mtbr member
    Mar 2012
    i'm looking to build a fat tire bike frame but wanting to know what size steel pipe will be strong enough. any ideas for size pipe would be best (weight and strength)?

mtbr member
    Mar 2012
    thanks, i came across the mtbr facebook page where they have all the nahbs bikes on display, will check out some of those brands.
    care to post a link? thanks

mtbr member
    Aug 2010

Curtlo. Curtlo Cycles - Frame Catalog They still do a softail. Softails are not in vogue right now, but they take the edge off quite nicely.

Russ Denny: Russ Denny Bicycles Russ has and still does contract-built for a ton of Bank of Mom and Dad funded bike brands.

Both of those shops have been around forever and survived through lean years in the bike industry. Both however are in the U.S. and I can't delete this post.

mtbr member
    May 2011
    Quote Originally Posted by SRock24 View Post