mtbr member
    May 2012

Getting back to MTB.... New to me Orange Crush..

Due to life and injuries from Motorcycles ect I have had about 20 years off from riding apart from the odd ride every few years. I have had my Checker Pig practically since I started riding. I love the bike even though it is out dated and rigid and not the latest and greatest. It has survived drop offs into quarries and down scree covered hills. Only to be retired due to an injury to my shoulder from a motorcycle highside.. Ooops...

So I recently started looking for a new bike which would not hurt as much to ride. There were only a couple I tried which were up right enough to feel comfortable enough and were mostly cheaper budget bikes. I wanted something a little better spec and build. After a while of getting nowhere I found a poorly listed Orange Crush (2010) on evilBay which I got for an extremely good price. I went to collect it and under the dust the bike was almost like new.

I took it out for my first real ride in over 18 months and although I felt like I had collapsed lungs it was comfortable and took all it could throw at it (poor riding mosly). I took it on the Follow the Dog route and the Monkey Trail at Cannock Chase.

Since my first ride I have done a couple more and I am loving the great little Orange. The long travel front keeps me up right and will take the hits I can give it. It jumps as well as I will want and lets me get back into cycling injuries and all...

Sherwood Forest is local to my parents and the 23 miles I did riding round my old stomping grounds was possibly the most enjoyable ride I have done in almost 20 years. Back on a bike, no pain and more able than me to go where I want...It was my perfect ride.... Plus I had lunch with The Major (Major Oak which is supposed to be Robin Hoods tree).

I have not done much apart from get a headlight and make a pre-preg carbon chain stay protector..