mtbr member
    Dec 2007

BlackSheep Bars/Seatpost

I'm wondering if anyone has had trouble with Blacksheep bars and sesatpost? I have the Flatter bars and the standard seatpost. I already sent my bent bars back to James, and just noticed that my post is bent. I weigh 205 and ride XC here in Ohio. No crashes, no jumping or down hill stuff. My bike is a IF 29er.

Another question is James good with replacing parts or fixing them? This is my first time dealing with a shop thats not my LBS.

Thanks Terry

widebody
    Mar 2004
    I've had both a bar and still have a post. My Flatter/Mary style bar was too flexy for my taste when riding rigid. With a suspension fork it was fine, but I thought the squishy fork defeated the purpose of a Ti bar. Sold it.

I have an Infinity post now. No problems with this one. Previously the first one started to bend, something about a certain wall thickness of the Ti. Called James and he replaced it free of charge with the thicker walled tubing. I'm probably the same weight with a full hydration pack and too many tools as you.

Give him a call or email, I'm sure he will take care of you. I sent my bent one back so he could see it and got the new one sent out quickly.

Slow But Still Pedaling
    No bending here, bars and post are both great, though I only have a couple hundred miles on each. I did lose a custom-length bolt and they filed and sent me a new one right away at no charge.

mtbr member
    Apr 2007
    I have had no bending problems at all after a year of hard use and I am not a lightweight. The only issue I had with the infinity post was that it slipped or rotated at the seat clamp if I bounced on the back of it too hard no matter how much I tightened it. I eventually solved it by using friction paste (used on carbon components) and tightening right up - hasn't rotated since. Otherwise good in fact I love them!

mtbr member
    Dec 2007
    Quote Originally Posted by Tricone View Post