Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast
    mtbr member
    May 2011

Beware of the Desperado

I employed Jalon Hawk (real name Laurence B. Gust) of Desperado Cycles in Deerbrook Wisconsin to create a custom bicycle for me. 22 months and over $14,500 later (yes, I'm an idiot) all I've received are excuses, demands for more money and verbal lashings for being unwilling to pay more for the work of a "master builder".

Be afraid. Be very afraid.

mtbr member
    May 2004
    $14,500? US Dollars?!

mtbr member
    Jan 2011
    Cycling Guy,

While it is nice to vent online it is somewhat unfair. If this becomes a case of throwing mud. How do we know you are not some d*ck with an agenda.

Right now you are someone without a name who has a two post history on the forum. If you have an actual case please use the court system and sue him. After you win your lawsuit feel free to post your stuff. You will be have more creditability if you use proper channels.

I have no knowledge of you or of Jalon Hawk but a quick Google search shows that he has a page on BBB with zero complaints. If you have a material complaint take it there and/or to the court system.
    http://www.bbb.org/wisconsin/busines...k-wi-44012588/

Good luck and let us know how it turns out.
    Mark Farnsworth, Raleigh, NC
    http://farnsworthbikes.com

mtbr member
    Quote Originally Posted by Cycling_Guy
    I employed Jalon Hawk (real name Laurence B. Gust) of Desperado Cycles in Deerbrook Wisconsin to create a custom bicycle for me. 22 months and over $14,500 later (yes, I'm an idiot) all I've received are excuses, demands for more money and verbal lashings for being unwilling to pay more for the work of a "master builder".

Be afraid. Be very afraid.
    Ummmmmmmm.......Wow. That made me stand up & pay attention. That's some serious coin!
    I'd pay a personal visit to talk that over at that level. - Steve Garro, Coconino Cycles.