what's for lunch today?
    Feb 2004

OT: turning on a radiator?

yeah, nothing to do with cycling. i'm a newb at these big metal things. how do you turn them on? should they make a noise or something? does my wall thermostat have anything to do with it? freezing my butt off..

The cat who could ride a bike

CB2
    Jam Econo
    First make sure you have oil in your oil tank (if you have an oil furnace), and the pilot is lit. If not call the oil company for a fill up and for them to light your pilot.
    Then turn the thermostat to the temp you want (you can do this first, and if the start tinking and gets hot, you've got heat).
    If you have oil, the burner is lit, and there is no heat, turn the knob at the base counter clockwise.

mtbr member
    Dec 2005
    good luck, i usually try to sell the wife on the no heat until November rule, but even i broke down tonight.

In the rear with the gear
    Quote Originally Posted by CheapTrek
    good luck, i usually try to sell the wife on the no heat until November rule, but even i broke down tonight.
    I hear you but I never win. My wife turned on the heat for the kids a couple of weekends ago when it got down to 40 on night.
    Get some Cycle Snack!

Iron Horse MKIII
    Q Ball 29er
    Fetish Fixed-ation 69er

mtbr member
    If the other radiators in your house are working, but one is not, you might need to bleed the air out of it. Air gets trapped in the upper part and no heat comes out. There is a small, knuckle-sized bleed valve on one end of the radiator, at the top. You need a special 'key' to open the valve and bleed the air out. Simply crank it open and let all the air out. When nothing but water shoots out of the valve, you're good.

You should be able to pick up a 'key' at one of your local hardware stores. Try a small mom & pop shop. They'll know what you talking about when you ask for one.

mtbr member