mtbr member
    May 2013

Black bears on CT Trails Anything to worry about

Curious if anyone has had a run-in with black bears? I have been riding for many years and never seen one but it seems reports are getting more frequent. Anything to worry about?

mtbr member
    Apr 2013
    I've had a few run in's....once almost colliding with a big momma who was running diagonally to my trail up in Goshen. Guess their eye site isn't that good. But man she turned and followed me abit. Another time one was behind us walking at us as we talked resting. She didn't scare easy either. My other buddy had the best run in yet....we come down this big FAST downhill....thing is sitting there half asleep at the bottom where the corner was....he skids almost right into it. Man did that thing jump a mile....all of us almost crapped the forest....and it went off at rocket speed.

Several of us run bear bells on the bikes....also helps warn hikers you are coming.

Another buddy also ran across the "not in CT" mountain lion....over in Cornwall...that still unnerves him as he said it leaped about 15ft uphill with ease....getting wild out there. Avoid parts of Nassy if you don't like bears...its pretty common over there to see them.

mtbr member
    May 2013
    Wow, close encounters for sure. I am wondering standard pepper spray is good to carry. I see there is specific pepper spray for bear but those cans seem too bulky, I guess until you need them

Delirious Tuck
    There was a bike specific slim system that was available (or is). Competitive Cyclist had it. Not sure they still do.

I run into bears from time to time DH-ing in Whistler and Mountain Creek. Backing away the way you came seems to work well.

Knowledge is half the battle: Bear Encounters | www.bearsmart.com

As far as Mt. Lions, if you see 'em you have a chance.

Stay Safe in Mountain Lion Country

mtbr member
    Apr 2013
    >>is specific pepper spray for bear<<