mtbr member
    Apr 2013

New dropper post too long

Haven't been able to find an answer for this anywhere. Just assembled my new Diamondback Release 2. I am a newbie to dropper posts, so I was glad I got to install it to see how it works. It's a KS Lev Integra 31.6 mm. The problem is that I can't move the saddle low enough for the post to work. I put the post all the way down to the dropper joint, and yet the saddle comes up WAY too high. I'm 6'3", so that seems a little ridiculous.

Any thoughts on solutions. Thanks!
    Last edited by aboutface102; 04-15-2018 at 03:25 PM.

mtbr member
    Aug 2008
    Too long or not long enough?

mtbr member
    Dropper posts can be too long. This happens when at the fully extended length, the post can be inserted far enough into the seat tube to get the saddle at the correct height. This sounds like what you're experiencing. You need a different dropper that, between insertion depth and drop, will not be too long.
    Do the math.

mtbr member
    Apr 2013
    Yeah that's what I figured. I email DB to see if they will exchange for a shorter one. Thanks.

mtbr member
    At 6'3" I 'd say it's unlikely a stock build's dropper is to long.
    What size is is the diamond back and how much drop does the dropper have? Checking their site is doesn't list the drop. Not to state the obvious but one of the advantages of a dropper is to get full extension on climbs whereas if your used to a rigid post you may be conditioned to a much lower overall saddle height.
    It is no measure of health to be well adjusted to a profoundly sick society.

mtbr member
    Apr 2013
    It actually doesn't say how much drop it has anywhere on it or in the paperwork. The bike is an XL. When it's fully extended I can barely touch the down pedal with my toes, which leads me to believe it's the 265 mm.

mtbr member
    Apr 2013
    I mean the 490 mm full length

mtbr member
    You are able to lower the post all the way to the collar?