mtbr member
    Dec 2004

why reflective clothes?

I have been commuting for several years now and usually in the dark at the morning commute. It is common to see posts regarding reflective gear, clothes. I bike with front and rear flashers - 2 on back of good qualithy ie superflash and a nite rider headlight on front with a cateye white blinker. With all that what is the rationale for reflective gear?

I have no problem getting the gear but just haven't 'seen' what its all about. I just want to keep the commute simple as possible, if thats possible anyhow.

I Ride for Donuts
    I think it depends on where you are. If I was in the city I'd be doing a lot more to make myself visible. I'm doing about what you do...I have a rear blinky, a headlight, and now I have the 'lightweights' on my wheels...I put the extra reflective stickers that come with the lightweights on the heels of my shoes, so I have some reflectors with motion for cars coming up from behind.

I've been riding in the dark for 4 years, and I've never had an issue...for a long time I was using just the one rear blinky light. I have a very rural ride though, and don't have to worry about cross traffic, cars turning into other streets, etc.

In my opinion a full on reflective suit is probably overkill, but when it comes down to it, the cars that see you coming probably won't hit you. I'd look at your own commute and dress accordingly. The 10 cars that drive by me in the morning give me plenty of room with just a couple reflective stickers and a blinky taillight. If they were obviously not seeing me, I'd add some more 'bling'.
    You have no excuse for driving to work
    (unless you don't have studded tires)
    (no excuse for that either)

mtbr member
    Oct 2008

Go bright or go home

Hey,