Get your popcorn ready!
    Jun 2008

What Slicks for my MTB Bike?

Hey, I hear slicks are the way to go for commuting on a mtb. I have a Specialized Rockhopper Disc. I was wondering what slicks would be good for my bike. I ride about 24 miles round trip and my commute to work is about 15 minutes longer than my ride back (stupid hills!). Does anybody know of good slicks I can get? (sorry i am a complete noob to bike accessories/tires etc)

mtbr member
    Mar 2008
    Serfas Drifters...about 3500 miles on mine with no problems

mtbr member
    I'm running Maxxis Xenith 1.5s on my "street DEAN"...Love 'em!

Brackish
    I like the Ritchey Tom Slick because they are rated up to 85 psi, which is what I like my commuter tires at. I've also used the Tioga City Slicker Is and liked them, I don't care for the CS IIs though.

Nice no rass
    Nashbar has house brand 1.5's for $10-$11. If you can fit them, Hookworms are sweet and fat (2.5). They take a ton of abuse. Weenies will say they are too big and slow, but how slow is any tire without knobs when it's pumped up to 60 psi? If I could fit them on my old commuter (fork won't allow it) I'd be running them.

Panaracer Uff Da's (2.3) are online for $16-$17.

MTB Addict
    Jun 2007
    I love my 2.0 Big Apples (also come in 2.35) are durable and fast. Also, they carry decent momentum in their weight, so they plow over potholes etc nicely.

WooHoo Biking!!!!
    I have another vote for the Maxxis Xenith 1.5, kevlar bead. They rock!

BIG and Bald
    Specialized Hemisphere or the Nimbus.
    [SIZE="2"][SIZE="3"]Eat to Live[/SIZE][/SIZE]...[SIZE="3"]not the other way around[/SIZE]

Get your popcorn ready!
    Jun 2008
    sorry I really do not know too much, how does psi help speed lol? I kinda think I know but i am not 100% positive

Brackish
    The higher the psi, the harder the tire feels and the faster it rolls. Less psi will have a mushy feel, like you are always pedaling uphill.