Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
    Killer of Chains
    Feb 2004

Warning: Cannot Commute!

Get it? Cannot Compute?...ha

Anyway, I can't commute. It bums me out. Living in rural Marietta, Pennyslvania, about 25 miles from Harrisburg, and 15 miles from Lancaster.

You say "15 miles isn't a bad commute", well it is when the roads travels don't have berms and are high traffic areas, along with drivers in this area not having any understanding of how to pass cyclists, its pretty much a death wish.

I'm a college student, so I require a job during the summer that pays well enough to make up for the college semester. This means going to where the jobs are. Far away. After my internship ends next week I'll likely be going back to $17hr job 35 miles away.

Ugh. Depressing.

Anyone else have legitimate reason why they can't commute? Anyone not take a job because they couldn't commute?

Nice no rass
    I'd love to commute, but can't. I'm rural PA as well and where I work near PGH would be a death wish to commute. The 2 roads I take are narrow, hilly and twisty, no room for bikes. The hill billies here can't keep their pickups in their own lane, much less not hit a biker. I'd thought of commuting even the last couple miles, but there's no way I'd ride this section of Rt. 30. Too dangerous.

weirdo
    Well, I think this is the first I`ve seen of anybody bothering to post in a forum dedicated to bike commuting jut to say they don`t do it. I`ve read several posts on another forum by people who were fed up and either decided to stop biking to work or were considering stopping.

tlg
    (enter witty phrase here)