Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
    mtbr member
    Dec 2007

Top Commuting Tires for MTB

I am looking for "slicks" since 98% of my riding is of the on road or crushed limestone pathway. I am new to biking and now realize that maybe a road bike would have been a better choice but I am going to make due with what I have (Iron Horse Warrior 3.0).

I am a newb and was wondering if all I need is the new tire or if I need a new tube as well? Also is there a great place to buy these tires on the net? Finally, what it the typical psi to run my new tires at?

Bloody Bastard
    I'm running a pair of Continental Sport Contacts 26x1.6 with tubes rated from 1.5 to 1.9. All items purchased at my local REI. I've got the tires inflated to about 75 psi each. Great set of slicks. Zero problems.

mtbr member
    Dec 2007
    Has anyone tried the Forte City ST MTB Tire? They are $7.99 each at Performance bike

http://www.performancebike.com/shop/...tegory_ID=5425

Or how about these Forten ST Cross with Kevlar for only $12.99

mtbr member
    I went cheap on slicks and never regretted it... Forte City ST 26x1.5" slicks on el cheapo sale at Performance Bike for $7.99 each.

I had a set on for 2 years gravel and pavement commuting in the Wash. DC area, until I bought a 'cross bike. Now these tires get used in the winter when the MTB is on the trainer. They seem to have a long lifespan in my hands... Plus I saved the big bucks for better knobbies.

Bloody Bastard
    Quote Originally Posted by Joe-Joe
    Has anyone tried the Forte City ST MTB Tire? They are $7.99 each at Performance bike

Go for it. If they turn out to be sh!t you're not out a lot of money. Or they may just turn out to be your best bang for buck. Why not give them a try?