mtbr member

tips for riding to work

Hi to everyone,

I'm sorta new to the forum but have been watching in the background for a bit. I wanted to start riding to work ( a 7 mile trip ) to help offset the gas prices and also because i enjoy riding. As i work in an office I have no easy way to clean myself up I was wondering what some of my fellow riders do. For certain I will be changing my riding cloths for the normal office setup. Any tips or ideas would be greatly appreciated.

More than a little slow
    The hard part isn't changing clothes or cleaning yourself up, it's finding somewhere to hang your wet stinky riding clothes so that they are dry by the time you head for home. If you can find somewhere to do that, then commuting will be a breeze. As for yourself, a shower in the morning before the ride helps quite a bit, but really as long as you've got clean clothes at work you should be ok.
    Cheers, Dave

mtbr member
    Jun 2008
    I started riding 2 weeks ago. What I have been doing is driving to work every Monday to bring 4 days worth of clean clothes. Also I have 2 bags where 1 bag is for dirty clothes, the other bag is for clean.

I got a bottle of Bom Chicka Wah Wah(Axe Body Spray) and body wipes you can get at CVS.

Good to go!

mtbr member
    May 2008
    Talk to your employer, they may have a shower available. I will tell you that it is addictive. I have only been commuting for 2 weeks at most and there are already others at work that are doing the same thing. My employer is now providing a shower and is putting up a new bike rack. Just commit to commuting and everything else will work out.

mtbr member
    Apr 2004
    Hey everyone, long time lurker, sometimes poster, new commuter here...