mtbr member
    Jun 2012

Surly trailers cost too much...

So, are there any other trailers out there good for hauling plywood, and lumber and other bizarre crap that would be reliable over long distances?

I Ride for Donuts
    How far are you hauling plywood? I like my Bob Yak, but it's not going to haul a 4x8 sheet of plywood.
    You have no excuse for driving to work
    (unless you don't have studded tires)
    (no excuse for that either)

mtbr member
    Jun 2012
    20-30 miles maybe.

I Ride for Donuts
    Dude.
    You have no excuse for driving to work
    (unless you don't have studded tires)
    (no excuse for that either)

Moderator Moderator
    Wow, that is ambitious! Some of our lumberyards deliver. If you must haul by bike, I have no relevant experience, but I have had Home Depot cut a piece to size (no charge for a few cuts), so maybe you could use & haul a somewhat more manageable (2) 2' x8' half-sheets? Do it on a day with no wind. Perhaps peruse the cargobike forum above for ideas. I do recall someone on the fatbike forum that rigged an extended trailer for hauling a canoe (kayak?) on the trail, maybe search for that.

mtbr member

mtbr member
    Jun 2012
    Definitely cheaper and made in USA instead of Taiwan. Surly wants like 600 bucks plus you have to buy the hitch separate!

weirdo
    Quote Originally Posted by CommuterBoy View Post
    Dude.
    +1.

I hope you have no wind, ever, while riding with a 4 x 8 sheet of anything on your bike, but if you are really so inclined, I think the Bikes At Work (linked by BrianMc) trailer is the only over-the-counter method available. It seems to me there are some crazy hombrews made from aluminum ladders in the "Utility" subforum over at BFnet.

NONDURO