View Poll Results: Stop signs.... what do you do?

Voters
79. You may not vote on this poll
  • Come to a complete stop

16 20.25%
  • Slow down and roll through

32 40.51%
  • Check for traffic and if the coast is clear, blow through

31 39.24%
  • Organ Donor Option: Blow through without looking

0 0%
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
    Still want a fat bike....

Stop Sign Question

So I've been commuting for about 3 months now and I ride mostly neighborhood streets with lots of 2 and 4-way stops. I was wondering what all of you do when you come to a stop sign. I know some people are super strict and think that we should obey all traffic laws and then there are some who like to roll through if the coast is clear. What do you do?

Didn't see this in the first couple pages, so if its been beaten to death, please forgive me and post a link if you have it.

I'll post my personal preference once the discussion gets going.

Fat!Drunk!Slow!
    I only come to a complete stop when there is traffic/peds, when its just me, I slow down and roll thru, not legal but with no traffic its wasted time to come to a complete stop...

mtbr member
    Mar 2010
    If *any* sign of traffic/peds, come to a complete stop/trackstand. If totally deserted, come to a virtual stop (less than 2 mph) and then roll cautiously through.

mtbr member
    May 2006
    Totally depends on what is going on at that intersection at that time.

If I have to stop usually I track stand......and kinda dribble forward...till I can go...

Often drivers slow down and wave me by in front of them.

mtbr member
    After having lived in many areas, I have come to the conclusion that a lot of this is affected by local driving culture/enforecement. Where I learned to drive, if an officer saw you not stop it would be a ticket. They may be less strict there now, I don't know.