mtbr member
    Oct 2012

Right size backpack?

I've been using a 2wheelgear pannier for a few years, but am consider getting a backpack too so I can ride different bikes or even hit some trails on the way home.

I typically carry a day's worth of business casual attire, a small lunch, deodorant, and maybe a light jacket if it's cold. I also need to be able to squeeze my laptop in if I am have to bring work home with me.

Is 30 liters enough? The next sizes up are usually 40+ which seems like a lot.

mtbr member

Right size backpack?

I just picked up a Coleman Kaver 27L, and I'm loving it. This morning I was able to fit my work uniform (long sleeved shirt and pants), 2L hydro bladder, two large books (class right after work), and the usual stuff I keep with me throughout the day in my work truck, like chargers, gum, blah blah blah.

mtbr member
    Oct 2013
    Take all your stuff to an REI or someplace like that and stuff it in different backpacks to get a feel for how it fits. But if there's no place near you that sells backpacks (even crappy ones just to get an idea of volume) then I'd say yes, 30 liters should be plenty.

jrm
    mtbr member
    I started with a 32 liter deuter pack some 10 years ago and it worked really well. After a while though i began to reassess what i really needed to carry and as it became less and less i figured that by planning ahead and packing light i could get away with a lighter pack. For the last 2 years ive been using a deuter speedlite 20 liter pack. It holds my clothes and the essentials. What it doesnt carry i leave @ work if im taking the long way home from work.
    Wreck the malls with cows on Harleys

mtbr member
    The real test: will it fit enough beer to wet a rolling party's whistle?

mtbr member

Right size backpack?

Quote Originally Posted by rogbie View Post
    Brought home a sixer and two bottles of wine without giving it a second thought. I still say Kover.

jrm
    mtbr member