Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
    One Colorful Rider

Pearl Izumi Barrier GTX Winter Cycling Shoe

Now Pearl has a new winter shoe. I like them cause they have more refective on them.

I've been using Lake winter boots since 1998. I really like them and the price is justifiable.

Any one use the pearls yet. And did you have lakes before that.
    Attached Images Attached Images

mtbr member
    Nov 2008
    I can't speak for the shoe itself, but in my experience anything with Gore Tex lining is well worth the price, they look pretty warm and I like the reflective strips.

One Colorful Rider
    Thats why I like the Pearls even though I have not tried them yet. But thay came in today.

Clothing manufactors need to make winter clothing more reflective. If your riding in winter chances are you riding in the dark

mtbr member
    Aug 2007
    They look really water proof. They don't seem like they'll handle a Wisconsin winter. I've got Lakes for this year so hopefully they can handle it.

What sort of retention mechanism do they have? I really like the Lake's cable thingy.

bicycle dreamer
    I'm ordering a set of these for my Wisconsin commutes. Should be here soon I imagine.

I hope the snow holds off much longer than that, to be honest.
    Moving the soul with two wheels.
    I have a slight cycling addiction.

Now living in Nagoya City, Japan!

mtbr member
    Mar 2006
    I've been researching winter mtb shoes, and those Pearl Izumis look interesting. Pity that, according to their website, the maximum size available is 45.5 (about US 11).

mtbr member
    Aug 2007
    Quote Originally Posted by keithmo
    I've been researching winter mtb shoes, and those Pearl Izumis look interesting. Pity that, according to their website, the maximum size available is 45.5 (about US 11).
    That's just a bad move. Winter shoes need to go to like 15 so you can order the largest size available and put a boot liner in them.

Got A Lust for Life...