mtbr member
    Aug 2011

Pannier(s) on a mountain bike

I've been commuting to work on my 05 Rockhopper Comp for 2 years using a backpack. This year I'm looking at getting a rear rack and panniers. I'm looking for advice on what rack/pannier to get.

My commute is pretty flat but I ride pretty hard, including some bumpy off-roading. So it has to hold on decently. I actually bring more stuff than you might expect for a commute. Some days (like today) it's 5F in the morning and 35F in the afternoon and I need a second pair of biking clothes, along with my work clothes, and lunch/beverages. I currently have a cheap, moderate-sized backpack (Outdoor Products Morph 8.0) that is about right.

So some specific questions:

1) On the back of the frame, by where the rear axle hooks in, there are no holes on the edge of the frame like previous bikes I've owned (there are two on the left side, zero on the right). However, on either side, there is a threaded hole in the frame with a rubber stopper in it. Is this for mounting a rear rack? If so, is there a special kind I need to look for? This isn't exactly a normal commuter bike so I'm willing to believe I can't mount a rack on here without modification.

2) The rear fork of my bike isn't very long, so I am looking for a rear rack that sticks out pretty far back so I can prevent hitting the pannier with my heel. Any recommendations? This could factor into what pannier(s) I get as well.

3) If I go the route of just getting one pannier bag and putting it on the left side, will this throw off my balance? Like I said, I ride decently hard for a commute.

Given that I sometimes need to pack heavy for my commute, I find myself gravitation towards the "grocery-store" oriented ones. The one I'm looking at now is the Banjo Brothers Market Pannier, which is 1500 cubic inches and $50, which is around what I'd like to pay for the bag itself. But I'm still not sure, based on the heel-bumping and balance concerns above.