mtbr member
    Jun 2008

newbie looking for bike

Hello all!

I need help choosing a bike. Preferably in the under $500 range. But i'm really new to this scene and there is a lot of learning ahead for me. This looks like a good place to start.

Basically i need a bike to commute around town, generally in a 10mile radius. And i also like to climb a steep hill nearby. Don't go off-roading at all.

I have been looking at the Giant FCR3 recently because the shop near me prefers to carry Giant and Electra. Hoping for other opinions. Something possibly not made in China/Taiwan preferred, but i don't think that's possible with my budget.

Would appreciate any help i get. And i apologize ahead if i ask for clarification on any bicycle terminology.

Thank you!!

mtbr member
    Jun 2008
    It sucks, everything is made in Taiwan or China. Even if you find a frame made in the USA, Canada, Italy, Japan, etc. the components will likely be from China or Taiwan. You'd be lucky to find a good American frame built up for less than $1500. Cannondale used to be all USA, but only their top tier frames are made here now. Just take heart that you are doing the world good by consuming less gas.

mtbr member
    Jun 2008
    Hi!

Thanks for the reply. How does the Kona Dew compare to the FCR3? I've been eye'ing a used Dew for sale and am interested. But as i am unfamiliar with bicycle repair and maintenance i am a bit weary on getting a used one. Most of the new bicycles offer a lifetime maintenance. Is there anything specific i should check for when looking at the used bike?

I just realized there was a beginner section, sorry mods if i posted this thread in the wrong area. Feel free to move if necessary.

mtbr member
    I highly suggest you go used. Try some internet sizing guides to get an idea of what may fit you and then search craigslist and ebay. Here are a few good brands to get you started:

Bianchi
    Bridgestone
    Cannondale
    Centurion
    Miyata
    Nishiki
    Raleigh