Resident Newbie
    Jun 2007

Need a road bike for around $500! Newbie

I have a Haro X6 LT freeride bike and am looking to do some road riding to save on gas and get some exercise when I can't commit to driving to a park to mountain bike. I'm wondering if it is reasonable to expect to find a decent road bike for around $500. Street tires for my bike are out because it weighs in at 36 lbs and is full suspension. I've been checking craigs list and the classifieds but haven't found anything decent. I'm looking for a road bike with drop bars and the brake levers that are also shifters. I'm very new to the road scene so any suggestions as to what to get are welcome.
    08' Haro X6LT

mtbr member
    Try roadbikereview.com the sister site to this one. As for commuting bikes, I got a buddy looking at the Trek FX series, Gary Fisher Monona & Specialized Globe. More of a hybrid bike then road bike, but around $500-600 range.
    [SIZE="2"]Give me a lotta lumps . . . a whole lotta lumps.[/SIZE]

mtbr member
    Apr 2008
    I'm in the same price range, and in nearly the same situation, and here's what I test rode yesterday:

Specialized Sirrus 2008 $550
    Specialzied Sirrus 2007 $450 (discounted for last year's model, normally $499)
    Scott SUB $499
    Scott Sportster 6 $349
    Haro Roscoe $549
    Masi Caffe $650

While the Masi is the best looking, it's way too rigid for me. The Roscoe has the coolest color, a bright green. The Scott bikes have the nicest looking frames. The Sirrus rode very well, and would be the top of my list, if I were going for stock....with that said...

IMHO the Sportster 6 with an upgraded crankset would be perfect. Commuter bikes are gonna get thrashed, no sense in spending tons if you're on a budget. Besides, cheaper bikes leave cash for nicer racks/packs.

mtbr member
    Jul 2003

You won't likely find a true....