I got nothin'

Nashbar X - Four Year Commuting Update

Well, I have been riding the Nashbar X frame as a commuter now for four years, year round. It has performed very well as a commuter. I have logged about 11,000 miles through year round riding in Portland Oregon, rain (lots of it), wind, snow, ice and sun. I have gone through three sets of chainrings, chains, cassettes and tires.

I have ridden this bike to/from work, on errands around town, on double track trails and even on a 50-mile, 7,500 foot elevation gain ride! Fully dressed and ready to commute she weights in at 28 pounds.

The big surprise of the components are the Novatec hubs. I ordered a set off ebay and they have been fantastic. 11,000 miles wit zero issues and no maintenance.

Things I love about this frame:

1. Disc brake compatible
    2. Great geometry
    3. Tall headtube - reduces the number of spacers needed
    4. Color and lack of decals

Things that I am not in love with:

1. 130mm rear spacing
    2. Super rigid ride - reminds me of my 80's vintage aluminum Cannondale road bike, the one with the HUGE frame tubes
    3. Could use more places to attach racks/fenders.

Overall...I say this is an exceptional deal for the $99 I paid for it!

Nashbar X - Four Year Commuting Update-dsc00872a.jpg
    Nashbar X - Four Year Commuting Update-dsc00874a.jpg
    Nashbar X - Four Year Commuting Update-dsc00876a.jpg
    I ride at ludicrous speed

mtbr member
    Dec 2012
    This is some great news. I've been looking at nashbar's frames and they seem to be great value and now I know they are very durable. Thanks for the post.

I got nothin'
    They are a durable product. In some respects, they seem to be a bit over built. It's hard to beat the price of their frames.

mtbr member
    Sep 2005
    I've got the same frame. CAn you take some closer pictures that show how you mounted the fenders and rack?

I got nothin'
    tbassak,

Here you go!