Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
    mtbr member
    Aug 2014

Making better time

So I've been commuting on my bike now for almost two months and yet as hard as I push I'm finding it impossible to even get an extra minute faster. I wondered it anyone had any suggestions?

cheers!
    Sc00t

mtbr member
    Apr 2010
    You should start listening to the free Cycle360 podcast, especially these episodes:
    Structured Training
    The Cadence Show
    Buying a Bicycle Computer

The summary:
    To go as fast as you can, you need to maintain the most optimum, that is highest(within limits) cadence usually between 70-90 revolutions per minute. Cadence is everytime your your pedal-crank makes a full revolution. To know what your cadence is you will need a cycling computer(funny enough, I don't have one that can measure cadence, I need to get one....) that has support for a crank sensor.

Listen to the actual podcasts for far more info.

mtbr member
    Aug 2011
    So, sc00t, a little more info would be helpful. Bike and tires? Gearing? Distance involved? How long have you been biking? Pics?

Quote Originally Posted by jeffscott View Post
    Don't go hard all the time take at least a day off a week, maybe only two really hard rides a week.

figure out traffic patterns etc.... the record ride will have the best hit on all lights etc.
    my fastest commutes are the ones where I hit the most green lights on my route, not necessarily the ones where I hammer the hardest.

mtbr member
    May 2006
    Quote Originally Posted by sc00t View Post
    So I've been commuting on my bike now for almost two months and yet as hard as I push I'm finding it impossible to even get an extra minute faster. I wondered it anyone had any suggestions?

cheers!
    Sc00t
    Don't go hard all the time take at least a day off a week, maybe only two really hard rides a week.

figure out traffic patterns etc.... the record ride will have the best hit on all lights etc.