mtbr member
    Jul 2008

Looking for "Urban" Trek Bike

Here's the deal. I got back into biking after a 10 year break from childhood when I got a Giant Sedona for Christmas last year. My dad told me it was a "hybrid" - I could bike around town on it and hop on dirt trails with it as well.

I had never heard of such a thing, I always knew bikes to be either Lance Armstrong with the tires the with of my thumb, or mountain bikes. I started riding around on my Sedona and loved it. Some of my friends followed suit soon after and got bikes as well but they all got mountain bikes. So we started to hit more and more dirt trails. The more advanced the trails got the more I realized that my Sedona was not made for the real courses, almost dangerous with the handlebar setup.

So now that biking's became an almost daily thing, I decided it was time to invest in a higher end product. What is confusing while I've been looking online is that "hybrid" bike is a very loose and varying category. I've seen urban, comfort, hybrid, etc, etc, all used on different sites to label bikes from the Cannondale Bad Boy Ultra to these crazy looking single speed cruisers. It's a very diverse and loosly labeled category.

But with gas prices and the environment I see this category of bikes becoming increasingly important. Recreational mountain trails are awesome but having a bike you can swap tires out and commute with seems like the best approach.

I had been looking very seriously at the Cannondale Bad Boy Ultra by a couple friends when I told them the type of bike I desired. Mountain frame, but road tires for commuting that I can swap out with a mountain wheelset. Then I found this site, and the more I read reviews it seemed that the Bad Boy is overpriced for what it is and I'm not looking to spend more than necessary just for a brand name.