Two Wheeled Terror

Looking at bikes to commute with

I have been riding my fs bike to work and pretty much everywhere for a while. I love it out on the trails but I have been wanting to get a bike to train with at the same time. So I've found two bikes after researching a lot and reading a ton of info. I usually ride with a pack but I am not alien to rear racks. I have this compulsion every time I ride to go faster or otherwise improve my commute and there is no dirt really in my commute unless I make a detour. So here are the bikes.

http://29palms.bookoo.com/i/35992903
    Its a 07 Giant STP ss for $300 as that's all I would offer.

and choice #2
    http://bikesdirect.com/products/merc...tt_wt_xiii.htm
    Mercier kilo wt $479 shipped

I like choice number two because it would train more cardio in me but I like #1 because it looks like it would hold up to my 200lbs better and it has disc brakes. All insights are appreciated. I'm still new to commuting and just getting back into biking. The road frame would be my first as well. Other bike suggestions are also welcome. There are so many bike brands out there that are of quality it makes my head spin.

Sent from my BNTV600 using Tapatalk 4 Beta

mtbr member
    The giant is meant for dirtjumping which I wouldn't think would be great for commuting. If you're looking for a disc hardtail getting something with XC geometry would probably be a much better starting point - Giant Revel, Specialized stumprockhardjumperhopper, or pretty much anything that's not a dirtjumper.

As for the road bike, I quite like my singlespeeds and think that everyone should try it. But singlespeed also might not be for everyone.

mtbr member
    Definitely not that Giant, doesn't make any sense to buy a DJ bike for commuting. Peruse craiglist, there's a million SS road bikes on there.

Two Wheeled Terror
    I am keeping my eye on craigslist and there is my lbs as well. I don't think many out here do the ss thing though.