Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast
    mtbr member
    Feb 2008

How much fast will i be on a road bike?

I know this is a difficult question to answer but i have been thinking of getting a road bike for ages and am not sure how much difference it will make. I haven't owned a road bike (with drops) since i was about 12 (26 years ago)

I have been commuting on the bike below for several years now. Its my wife's old MTB and it fits pretty well as a commuter. I have the setup as dialed as possible for road, with 700c wheels, vittoria Randaneur tyres in 25mm at 80psi. My commute at the moment is about 26k (about 16 miles) which i consitently do in about 60minutes (57 if i really push). I cruise at around 30kph and it is pretty flat and open but gets busy for the last 5k with traffic and lights.

My question is how much fast will i be on a road bike?

I am pretty sick of racing guys on road bikes and either losing or at least doing it harder. I have been thinking about this for a few years and would borrow a road bike to test if i knew anyone who had one but i don't. Will a road bike shave 1 minute off time commmute time? 2 minutes? 5 minutes? 10?

I know it is a dumb question but i also know there is no such thing as dumb questions, only dumb people.....

How much fast will i be on a road bike?-img_4284-large-.jpg

~Disc~Golf~
    "how much fast" is hard to quantify; if not impossible.
    Honestly... ahh I give up

mtbr member
    Apr 2008
    Its hard to say. A road bike would be lighter with higher gearing, and probably more comfortable and efficient. You'll probably gain 2-3mph on average.

mtbr member
    Jul 2008
    You've nearly got a road bike as it is. Can you swap out the chain rings on those arms to add more teeth?

You could also swap out the bars to a drop set but that is going to be considerably more money once you sort the brakes and shifters too.

mtbr member
    May 2006
    Are you spinning out at top end? if so a road bike higher gearing will help