Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
    mtbr member
    Jul 2008

Listen! How many miles will you have for 2008?

This has been my first year commuting and it has worked out great for me. I'm in much better shape than I have been in years; I didn't feel completely helpless by gas prices when they started going up earlier this year; and best of all I've lost over 35 pounds since I started riding this Spring.

I have currently logged 2,482 miles so far this year. At the rate that I'm going, I should end the year with just over 2,600 miles. I didn't have a bike computer for the first few weeks I began riding so I actually should have a little more than that.

So here are a couple of questions for everyone:
    1. How many miles have you logged so far this year?
    2. How many miles do you estimate you will have ridden by the end of the year?

mtbr member
    May 2004
    I'm going to be right about 6,500 for the year. I just went over 6,000 yesterday and 500 in December should be realistic, assuming no huge blizzard to cut my riding. Of those miles it is hard to say what percentage are from commuting as I frequently use before/after work to add miles to riding for training. My hunch would be about 2,000 miles of commuting and not car driving for "work".
    Blogging about nothing since 2005
    http://devinrides.blogspot.com/

mtbr member
    Aug 2007
    I don't use computers, so it's hard to know for sure. I'd need a computer for four bikes (soon to be five) and that just seems unnecessary. Just getting to work and school for any given week is about 70 miles, so about 3600 just in getting where I need to go. I'm sure I've got about that in having fun on my bike too. I also purchased no gas again this year. Summer '06 was the last time.

Squeaky Wheel
    Dec 2005
    I've got just over 280. But, I just started commuting to work part-time in October. I should end the year with somewhere around 500.