Thread: Head To Head

mtbr member

New question here. Head To Head

I am seriously considering a CX bike to commute on and for go almost any where fun. Some seem to allow the addition of fenders which is a plus. The two that I am pitting "Head To Head" are the Trek XO 1; http://www.trekbikes.com/us/en/bikes/road/xo/xo1/ and Giant TCX 1; http://www.giant-bicycles.com/en-us/...ad/2299/32183/. They seem to be specked similarly, but I have no idea what subtle things to look for. Which IYO which is the better choice?

No-Brakes Cougar
    I'm no expert on CX bikes, but here is one I have been eyeballing for some time : http://www.bikesdirect.com/products/motobecane/uno.htm
    Much more reasonably priced than the above two bikes, and probably almost as good. And since it sounds like you're mainly going to be commuting on it, it might be a more practical alternative? Though if I really had my heart set on one of the above two bikes, I would be probably go with the Trek.
    R.I.P. Ronnie James Dio ~ July 10, 1942 May 16, 2010

I Ride for Donuts
    If I had that kind of money, I would buy a Kona Jake the Snake hands down. Preferably a Major Jake, in white, 2009: http://www.konaworld.com/09_majorjake_u.cfm sooooo nice.

That said, I like the Trek.

That said, Build your own! As pictured, under $1000 bucks (carbon fork even)

You have no excuse for driving to work
    (unless you don't have studded tires)
    (no excuse for that either)

mtbr member
    Sep 2008

as a guy who has commuted on cx bikes

for 5 years I'll tell you it is a great choice
    be careful many 'race specific' cxers have no bosses for water bottles and no tabs for fenders
    also some have pretty race geometry and are really quick handling.

I like top mounted brakes more for car slalom than I do for actual cx racing (they are also fun in tight single track giving you the mid 90s MTB Narrow Bar Buzz)

so make sure the bike you choose has the things you need.

oh and I'd look into steel, like a Voodoo