mtbr member

Guitar teacher wanting to commute

I give guitar lessons for a living and I'd like to start riding my bike to my studio which is 10 miles round trip. I have a guitar backpack which only holds my guitar and some cables, but I need to also bring a laptop and a small battery powered guitar amp which weighs about 6lbs and is 9-5/8"W x 8-15/16H x 6-9/16"D. I can't leave the laptop or amp in the studio since there are some questionable people I share the room with. What would be the best way to safely secure my laptop and amp to my bicycle? As of right now I have no racks or bags but will purchase them if I can realistically commute to my studio. I'm more concerned about protecting my laptop and keeping stuff from falling off than the extra weight from my gear. My bike is a GT Avalanche 3.0 disc, so I'm not even sure what kind of mounting possibilities it has for commuter stuff. Link to my bike here

http://www.performancebike.com/bikes...0_20000_400308

weirdo
    Recalculating....

mtbr member
    Quote Originally Posted by rodar y rodar
    Ha ha, good idea, but that's just too much, I don't have a place to lock my bike up at the studio, it goes inside with me and I'm limited on space. I was thinking more about a small rack on the back and a side bag of some sort for the laptop, just not sure what kind.

mtbr member
    Dec 2009
    Maybe something like this:

It's a Topeak TrolleyTote Folding MTX Rear Basket that slides on to their MTX racks.

http://topeak.com/products/baskets/TrolleyTote

UR

mtbr member
    Quote Originally Posted by UncleRobin

It's a Topeak TrolleyTote Folding MTX Rear Basket that slides on to their MTX racks.

UR
    I think that might of just nailed it. If I can find it in an LBS before I buy it that would be great.

mtbr member
    Oct 2005
    You don't mention a budget, so I will suggest a Freeradical from Xtracycle.

mtbr member
    Apr 2008
    Quote Originally Posted by spinarou