Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
    mtbr member
    Jul 2005

"Gravel" bike commuter?

I'm looking for a commuter bike to cover a distance of 11miles each way on a mixed paved and unpaved surfaces. Mud is rarely an issue. Options include a gravel bike, "dual-soprt"/hybrid or converted 29inch MTB. I leaning towards a gravel bike.
    Price: no more than $1500, better stay aroung a grand.
    Any recommendation?
    Thank you!

mtbr member
    Dec 2005
    I have been riding a Kona Rove for my commute for a couple of months. I love it. I also tested a Salsa Vaya which felt sluggish. The Rove feels very snappy and fun to ride - which makes my commute much more enjoyable.

Retail on the Rove is $1699.

But you could get a Sutra, which is the same bike with a lower component spec and tricked out for Touring (rack, fenders, bar-end shifters, etc) for $1499.

Or there is an aluminum version withe an even lower spec for $899.

I am very happy with my Rove.

Good Luck.

MTB, Road, Commuting
    I'd go with the gravel bike or just a cross bike. I can't buy into the difference. There are a lot more used cross bikes than gravel bikes out there. I got a used Felt F4X a few years ago and it is my favorite out of the 8 bikes I ride. I did 40 miles on pavement yesterday, if those 40 miles had been on gravel that would have worked too.

This looks decent.
    Felt F1X Cyclocross Bike | eBay

mtbr member
    Dec 2005
    Quote Originally Posted by bedwards1000 View Post
    I'd go with the gravel bike or just a cross bike. I can't buy into the difference. There are a lot more used cross bikes than gravel bikes out there. I got a used Felt F4X a few years ago and it is my favorite out of the 8 bikes I ride. I did 40 miles on pavement yesterday, if those 40 miles had been on gravel that would have worked too.

This looks decent.
    Felt F1X Cyclocross Bike | eBay