mtbr member
    Apr 2011

First Commuter bike

Hey,

I'm looking into buying my first commuter bike and I've got a couple of used ones on craigslist that I'm looking into buying but I'm not really knowledgeable enough to know which bike is better. There is a schwinn 434 aluminum for $125 and 1990 fuji saratoga for $100. I'm going to provide the the links so you can take a look for yourself. I really appreciate the help.

1990 Fuji Saratoga road bike
    Mens aluminum Schwinn road bike

I accidentally posted in the another section and a gentleman said should aim for something more expensive however I'm a college student working with a fairly limited budget.....yet I do enjoy working on a bike so a fixer upper wouldn't be so bad.

Thanks a bunch

betelgeuse

mtbr member
    Remember a mile or less is easier to walk than ride and lock up a bike. A lot of campus trips can be that short or shorter depending on where you live on campus. Off campus housing further away? Riding makes sense.

Some basic ideas:

Commuting 101: Choosing a bike | Commute by Bike

Old bikes can make good commuters. These two are quite different in size. Look at the length of the head tubes (where the fork and stem/handlebars fit. The seat tube will correspond in length. If you can fit the large one the small one is too small, if your crotch barely clears the top tube of the small one with your feet on the ground, the big one is *way* too big. Sure, as long as you can stand over the top tube, you can get stems and seat posts to force the fit, but that gets into money, too. The 18 speed (3 x 6) may be needed if it is a bit hilly where you plan to ride, and you are not particularly fit (carry extra weight that is not muscle).

One man's take on fit: How to Fit a Bicycle

The brake pads are likely hard. If you can afford them, get Cool Stops to replace them. Count on new tires and tubes and a repair kit with spare tube. You may want to go platforms for the pedals and ditch the clipped pedals.