View Poll Results: Do you wear work clothes on the bike?

Voters
165. You may not vote on this poll
  • No. Never. That's gross.

95 57.58%
  • Always. Not a problem.

43 26.06%
  • I do both depending on mood and temperature.

25 15.15%
  • I'm a pro sponsored rider, so my work clothes ARE bike clothes.

2 1.21%
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast
    I Ride for Donuts

Do you wear your work clothes on the commute?

This thread is inspired by the "pantleg in the chain" thread...something I've never had to worry about. I don't ever wear work clothes on the bike. I have a cabinet/closet thingy at work and I keep shirts/pants/shoes there. I swap out these clothes every week or so when I'm nearby with a car. I carry underwear/undershirt with me in the backpack...so the only thing I ever wear at work that I was wearing on the bike is socks, sometimes. I carry an extra pair of socks in the pack in case of a freak rainstorm that produces soggy ankles, and most of the winter I'm wearing neoprene socks on the bike and carrying my sock socks in the pack.

I like this system because it allows me to wear warm cycling clothes in the winter, and eliminates any hygeine issues at work on a particularly sweaty day. In fact, it works so well that I don't understand why anyone who rides their bike to work would suffer through wearing work clothes on the bike. Enlighten me?
    You have no excuse for driving to work
    (unless you don't have studded tires)
    (no excuse for that either)

Fat!Drunk!Slow!
    With a 17 Mile RT commute, work clothes live @ work and get swapped out when dirty. No way I could do my commute in denim and cotton.

mtbr member
    Jan 2011
    On my commute to school (Gateway Community College, PHX, Az.), about 9 miles. Bike shorts under cargo shorts. To work, about 3 miles, just regular work clothes.

mtbr member
    Jan 2011