Back in the Saddle Again

New question here. Dealing with the dreaded bonk when Diabetic and commuting.

Being type 2 diabetic for many years I had gotten my dietary needs down with my then lifestyle and activity levels.

Then I started riding bike and shortly after, commuting.

Last week I had two cases of the bonk in as many days both on the evening commute. On the second day I had my tester on hand and when I tested before leaving I was at 124. Two miles later, with a head wind I felt the effects and stopped, checking my gl levels. It was a 44. I loaded up on a large malt shake, having forgot the glucose tabs I bought that morning at work. Waited a bit, and tested again. I was at 94 and I hit the road at a steady but relaxed pace. 8 miles later I got home and retested, 97. I burned through the shake to get home.

I equated that with having close to bare pantry, so meals were lucky to clear 2K daily but it was an eye opener.

So now I have to sit down and revamp my eating habits around my evening commute and also work it with a not real strict paleo diet.

For those of you dealing with type 1 or two diabetes or those who deal with diet issues and commuting, I would really like to hear from you and how you avoid the dreaded bonk.

mtbr member
    Jul 2012
    I am not diabetic so I'm not sure how much help I can offer, but I wanted to share that my father in law is and he wears what works out to a live monitor wirelessly feeding to a readout device that looks kind of like a pager, which alerts him (beep + vibrate) if his sugar goes too high or low. I'm imagining that + glucose tabs for when it alerts?

mtbr member
    If you don't get any good answers here, (which I hope you do, but it is a limited population), I would suggest checking the xc forum where people are in training, and also the rider down forum. Googling MTBR + diabetes might get better results than the site search - or you may just find people raising money for diabetes!