mtbr member

Couple commuter questions

I'm a bike commuting noob and there is no commuting FAQ thread I brought home a new Surly Cross Check today, haven't even been able to ride it yet because we have so much snow. I have a short little 5 mile commute to class (grad school ftw), with about 20 pounds of books/binders/laptop. A few accessories questions, I've never set up a bike for commuting before so be gentle

Rear rack - I'm thinking of ordering a Planet Bike Eco rack, will this fit over the fenders - Planet Bike Hardcore - that I have on the bike? How do I know if the rack will sit level, or is that all in the installation? Are racks pretty universal?

What's a good lock? I won't be parking it in a very high theft area, but I'd rather be on the safe side. I'd prefer a cable lock with a key. I definitely want one thats drillproof.

I'd like to replace having a backpack with a pannier that doubles as a messenger bag that I can just snap off and take to class. Been looking at the Timbuk2 Bullitt, anyone have any experience with this?

Any issues carrying a laptop in a pannier? Don't want to bust my computer or anything...that'd be bad.

Thanks!

mtbr member
    Apr 2008
    Congrats and welcome! I also have a Cross Check and an Eco Rack, but I do not have fenders. There should be plenty of room though. Get the nicest lock you can afford. I haven't used a laptop in a pannier, but I'm sure others have and will chime in.

mtbr member
    Cablelocks are about as effective as tissue paper as far as I'm concerned. I don't know why they still sell the things (other than as a second lock for wheels).

The onguard locks that REI sell get really good reviews, and are cheaper than the kryptonite ones. There's a good overview here: http://www.consumersearch.com/bicycl...est-bike-locks