Reflective/visible
    Waterproof
    Breathable
    Some have that nifty button up/down tail
    Most of all: Windproof
    "...like sex with the trail." - Boe

mtbr member
    Apr 2008
    I just got an older Louis Garneau jacket that has almost everything you listed. Its not highly compactable, but it has pit zips! Found it on ebay for $30! Works like a champ.

mtbr member
    Expensive but nice.

http://www.rapha.cc/wind-jacket/

nocturnal oblivion
    ^^^And I just shaved my 'stache too.

mtbr member
    Jul 2008
    Nashbar Essential Jacket $30.
    http://www.nashbar.com/bikes/Product...7_10000_202487

Has everything you need and is cheap as well. I've been using mine for a couple of years now and am happy with it.

mtbr member
    Sep 2005
    Great suggestion by tanen but I use and highly recommend Performance's Illuminite Commuter jacket. I scooped it up for 70.00 and it's been worth every penny. It came in red, blue and Hi-Vis yellow. I don't see it on the website right now so hopefully they haven't discontinued it.

nocturnal oblivion
    I've been somewhat shocked to see that many of these jackets at REI average over $100, even the REI branded one. I'd assume that in order to get the breathability factor that jump must be made: from a $30 jacket to a $100 one?

mtbr member
    Sep 2005
    You sir, are correct in your observations. However, if you really dig around the internet sites like Ebay, you could score a very nice jacket without paying the retail price. Jag410's find is good testament.

Squeaky Wheel
    Dec 2005
    Here in the wet northwest, Showers Pass is a popular choice. I like the Double Century because it's lightweight, but at the same time it has good waterproof and breathability characteristics. If you ever go to a randonneur event, you'll see Showers Pass jackets everywhere. Expensive, but if you ride a lot, worth it. I've got three years and hundreds of rides on my Double Century and it's still going strong.

www.showerspass.com