mtbr member
    Jan 2011

which commuter bike?

Hi All,

I have been cycling to work on and off for a couple of years now, previously using mountain bikes for the 4 mile commute, there is one very hilly section and a very large hill over about a 2 mile distance there other smaller hill en-route too.

so I`m going to be taking it up again and was think of getting the best bike for the job, Iv looked at Road and hybrid bikes but would appreciate some suggestions from you guys?

Thanks

mtbr member
    Jan 2011
    sorry I posted into the wrong forum should be in general sorry

mtbr member
    May 2013
    I've been commuting by bike for a few years now, anywhere between 12 and 30 miles per day. I started out on a hybrid (Trek FX 7.3), moved to a road bike (Bianchi Via Nirone 7 Sora) and occasionally use my MTB (Specialized Rockhopper 29) on rare occasions.
    The hybrid was the most versatile and pretty comfortable. It allowed easy installation of fenders and a rack with MTX rail (for MTX saddle bags).
    The road bike is my favorite. It is the fasted, obviously.
    I use the MTB only when there is snow or ice out. It is the slowest of the bunch but pretty fun.
    The hills you mention will pose the same challenge to you no matter what bike you are on.

It really should be here instead of General, even.

Commuting

You'll find a lot of opinions on this. You're going to have to get onto a bunch of bikes just to narrow down the TYPE of bike you want to commute on.

At 4 miles, you can go with just about anything and you will be hard pressed to measure large time differences it takes to get where you need to go with the proper setup. Depending on where you are, you may not even build up much of a sweat part of the year. I had a commute about that distance in TX and it was even tolerable in the dead of summer with 110F afternoon temps, and mornings already above 90 with so much humidity it's foggy.