Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
    mtbr member
    Feb 2009

Commute via XC bike overkill?

First I must profess I'm a total newbie, so please forgive my naivete; it is unintentional

After reading all the road vs mt threads I could find, it seems the general consensus is that the major con of a mountain bike for commuting is its lack of speed due to weight, suspension inefficiency, and knobby tires. A bit more research later, it seems to me that higher end XC bikes can approach the weight of a road bike, and with a front suspension lockout for climbs, it "should" in theory approach the performance of a road bike, especially if the knobbies are swapped out for some road slicks.

Does a light XC bike with road slicks and suspension lockout represent the best of both worlds? Or am I completely overlooking something?

My commute is around 10 miles round trip, almost entirely hills on mostly sidewalk/pavement if I go the long way. I'd like to be able to explore some shortcuts as well as ride some trails on the weekends, hence the motivation to look into mountain bikes.

Thanks in advance,
    Jay

mtbr member
    my bike has a lockout fork which lets me climb with great speed. bike only weighs about 30 pounds.

i often ride with my friend who owns a road bike and we race down paved mountain roads.

he leans forward and is able to maintain 35 mph.
    i have to lean forward and pedal as fast as i can in the highest gear just to keep up.

conclusion: the tires make the biggest difference to me. the friction!

mtbr member
    Quote Originally Posted by jayz28
    After reading all the road vs mt threads I could find, it seems the general consensus is that the major con of a mountain bike for commuting is its lack of speed due to weight, suspension inefficiency, and knobby tires.