jrm
    mtbr member

California Bicycle Law Question..

The CVC claims that vehicles have to yield right of way to pedestrians if there in a cross walk. If i have a green light and a pedestrian with a "Dont Walk" signal crosses in front of me in the crosswalk do i still have to yield right of way to them even though there jaywalking b/c there in the crosswalk?

I almost nailed some pedestrian last Friday when they tried to cross in front of me. It shook me up b/c i could have seriously injured this guy and myself...

TIA

mtbr member
    Mar 2013
    I'll preface this with all important: I am not a lawyer, this isn't legal advice. But I have been curious about this in the past and did a little research, keep in mind laws will vary from area to area.

Basically the lights should rule, if you have the green and they have the don't walk sign they should be yielding to you. However, once they are in the crosswalk you are likely obligated to stop for them anyway. This is with regard to your liability to get a ticket from police. They could get a ticket for jaywalking and you for failure to yield.

If we are talking about civil liability (them suing you for hitting them), I don't think a vehicle (bike or car) is ever going to be free from liability when they collide with a pedestrian no matter what.

TLDR; Don't hit the idiots even if it seems like they deserve it.

mtbr member
    Oct 2017
    I believe anywhere in the U.S. cars must yield to bikes and pedestrians, and bikes must yield to pedestrians regardless of traffic signals.
    Last edited by commuterbik; 1 Week Ago at 11:35 AM.

mtbr member
    Oct 2016