mtbr member
    Nov 2005

Bonking ... not feelin' well Brooks seat staining my pants

I've been riding my black Brooks B-17 for 8 or 9 months now, 4-5 times a week and between 2-10 miles a day. It's never gotten more than a few drops of water on it and I treat it with Proofide once a month or so.

Here's my problem: when I ride long enough to sweat the moisture causes the leather's stain to release onto my pants. This isn't bad if I'm kicking around town in dark jeans looking for a beer, but sometimes I end up with a black stain on the back seam of my khakis, something that's especially nice when I'm teaching (I work at a college). If I pre-treat the stain when I get home and wash the pants a few times it usually comes out, but I'd like to not have this problem in the first place.

Here's my question: is there anything that I can do to keep the seat from staining my pants? It's a good seat for a commuter/town bike, but I can't be ruining my pants/walking around with a skid mark on (the outside of) my pants every time I ride long enough to break a sweat.

Is there anything I can do to save the Brooks, or do I need to buy a waterproof plastic saddle?
    Last edited by BigWheeler; 11-01-2008 at 07:30 PM.

Yayer!
    You should be alright if you are using Proofide often. I have heard of this happening with other people though. I have a black B17 as well and I have never had a problem. Do you treat the underside as well?
    Broken ankles = ********!

mtbr member
    Nov 2005
    I do treat the underside, though not every time that I treat the top. Honestly, I feel like the saddle bleeds more after I treat it, but I might just be imagining that. Maybe I just have particularly toxic buttsweat.

mtbr member
    Aug 2007
    You may be overtreating it, especially with the age. It's pretty well broken in. You also do not need to treat the underside very often.

http://www.sheldonbrown.com/leather.html