Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
    mtbr member
    Jan 2004

Bike light "etiquitte"

A thought just occured to me, is there a use for each of the modes of lights that exist? For example, I have a set of Ascent lights, front and back. Each one has a solid light, flashing light and a sort of strobe light that goes back and forth.

What mode do you generally use? Is one better than the others for certain situations? I know if I was a driver and I saw the strobe light thing it might be distracting, I dont know

Sweep the leg!
    When I'm in traffic I have the lights set for the most annoying blinkie mode they have so I can be seen by motorists. When I'm in traffic I don't need the lighting to see so much. The street lights or ambient light is generally more than enough for me.

But when I'm on the bicycle/multi-use trail I try to be thoughtful of other cyclists. If I have the headlight set on high beam and I see an approaching cyclist I'll tone it down or set it back on blinkie. It annoys me when another rider is blazing my retinas with their lights, but I'm not the trail lighting nazi so I try to close one eye to avoid temporary blindness/spotting.

My bottom line, do right by the other cyclists. Screw the motorists.
    Authorities speculate that speed may have been a factor. They are also holding gravity and inertia for questioning.

mtbr member
    May 2004
    Blink away on the streets it is the only way cars will notice you from dusk until dawn. When motorists see any sort of blinking light they think police, causing them to slow down and look. That's all I can ask of a light when I'm out commuting.
    Blogging about nothing since 2005
    http://devinrides.blogspot.com/

Squeaky Wheel
    Dec 2005
    I use strobe mode in traffic. I've left my light on solid in traffic in the past and it's amazing how many drivers don't see/pay attention to a solid light vs. a strobing light.