Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
    mtbr member
    Jan 2010

Best cable lock?

I know these things can be cut, but what is the best cable lock that will give a thief the most trouble?

Moderator Moderator
    The thicker the better, the specs should state the thickness of the cable. I find the non-self coiling ones easier to use, especially if you want to weave it through a wheel or 2. I have a Master Lock Python like this:
    Attached Images Attached Images  

mtbr member
    I know that you're asking about cablelocks, but they're really only meant for deterring drunks and kids. If you're actually worried about thieves then get something else.

I've got a couple of bulky, full-sized ulocks, but I've recently switched to a mini which works great:

Eventually I'll probably spring for a fancy Tigr Lock. But for now the mini-ulock is small enough to fit in a bag, reasonably light, and fairly cheap (at the Canadian equivalent of REI it's only $25). It can also be cut, but it's a lot more secure than any cablelock would ever be.

Why Cable Locks Suck Urban Velo
    Buyer's Guide To Bike Locks - BikeRadar
    How to lock a bike guide
    BicycleSource.com
    Bike Lock
    Best Bike Locks - 2005 Tests

mtbr member
    May 2006
    I have about 6 cable locks...no one has yet to try to cut one off our bikes...somebody did try to break the tumblers on one lock.

So it does provide some deterence...especially when three cables tie three bikes together...

Anyway the thing I like is the combo's can be changed, so you don't forget...all bike locks in our place are 08-18....my birthday.

mtbr member
    Mar 2010
    @jeffscott: Where did you say you lived again? I see a "vacation" coming on...

weirdo