mtbr member

Backpack suggestions

I have an old Pearl Izumi cycling specific backpack that I've been using for the last 10 years or so and I love it. The only problem is that it's finally wearing out (broken plastic buckles, worn out zippers, faded color).

I need some suggestions for a replacement. I commute to work a couple times a week and need to carry my clothes for work, lunch, etc. Please note that I am not interested in paniers.

I'm looking to spend about $125-$150. What does everyone suggest?

Wheel building addict.
    Mar 2005
    Seal-line urban backpack. you can search for it and find it for $79.

My only rainproof backpack is a timbuk2 with a reflective back. I won it at a messenger race. It's the only timbuk2 bag I'd buy. I think it's made in America, unlike their crappy messenger bags. It seems to be out of production now.

link to bikecommuters.com review of Seal-Line's Urban Backpack

I also like Chrome's roll top bag as well as Ortlieb's Messenger backpacks

mtbr member
    Aug 2007
    Chrome or Ortlieb.

I Ride for Donuts
    I have a 'Slingshot' backback by The North Face. I've been using it for the past 3 years through the snowy winter and rainy spring and fall. It's done very well, but now it's starting to loose its waterproof-ness in heavy rain. Great lightweight bag that was totally waterproof for at least two years of daily use. I like the removable waist-strap arrangement it has, and it has reflective accents also.

It saved me some serious road rash on one particularly nasty fall, and is still going strong.
    You have no excuse for driving to work
    (unless you don't have studded tires)
    (no excuse for that either)

mtbr member
    May 2007
    I also have a slingshot. I got it for around $50 and it works great.

jrm
    mtbr member

Deuter AC 28