Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
    mtbr member
    Jan 2011

Am I overdoing the commute?

My one-way commute is a total distance of about 2.8 mi according to Google Maps. The last 0.5 mi is a 300 climb and there isn't a way to avoid it or stretch it out. The return trip is about 0.5 mi longer and involves about 100 ft climb over about 3/4 mi in the middle. Since the ride is 100% urban, I'm stopping/slowing every 500 ft or so; there is one section with four 4-way stop signs over 0.3 mi in the middle.

I'm starting to notice that my quads are really sore on the way to work today. Yesterday I did not ride so I did get one day of rest this week.

I started riding around the middle of Feb but really only rode about once a week to work if that until the end of March because of weather. Since the end of March I've been riding 4 or 5 times a week to work and back.

Prior to this, I was not very active but not overweight, 5'7" 155 lbs. However, given that my commute is so short, it seems like this should be a non-issue aside from maybe the climb. I'm at the point where I no longer need to stop halfway up the hill if that means anything.

My bike is a 2010 Marin Point Reyes 29er as I bought it from the store aside from a couple lights. Tires are 700x42 (29x1.6 as Marin calls it) inflated to about 55 PSI.
    Last edited by jseko; 04-15-2011 at 06:30 PM.

local trails rider
    If it feels a little hard to you, then it probably is a little hard to you and taking a day off sometimes, for now, might be a good idea.

Sounds like your body is adjusting to the climbs. That is a good sign.

For soreness, light exercise and stretching seems to be the best cure. If you take a day off from bike commuting, do an easy ride or take a walk to get your fluids flowing, That should help with getting the nasty, soreness causing, stuff out of your muscles.

Do you have lower gears left in your bike so that you could take the climbs easier?