mtbr member

30 mile commute, need a better bike!

I commute 30 miles a day total now to my job on my GT Avalanche. It's terribly sluggish since it is heavy and has 2.1 inch tires on it designed for mud and sand, not pavement. I'm looking to purchase a commuter bike that is real fast on the road that way I can commute quickly with out breaking a sweat like I do on the GT. I'm a total noob when it comes to commuter bikes, all I know is I want something fast and comfortable and around 200$ used. Any commuter bikes out there around that price? I figure the bike is the cheapest way to work since peace in the middle east doesn't look plausible in the next 1000 years. Thanks in advance.

weirdo
    Quote Originally Posted by ihaveagibsonsg
    I figure the bike is the cheapest way to work since peace in the middle east doesn't look plausible in the next 1000 years.
    Hehe... I dunno about the first part, but I bet you nailed it for the second part!

Cheapest route is skinnier/smoother tires- that would help quite a bit right there. Otherwise, keep your eyes peeled on Craigslist/kijiji and go for whatever pops up that fits and makes your eye happy. For $200, if it doesn`t quite do the trick (it`s gonna be closer than your GT anyway), it`s no big deal. Start squirreling away cash and by the time you have another $200 ready you`ll have a better idea what you like/don`t like about that one and you`ll get closer the next time.

Moderator Moderator