Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Thread: 29er Commuting?

Ovaries on the Outside

29er Commuting?

I did a mountain bike ride through 200 miles on the Colorado Trail and for training I ran my mountain bike all over as a singlespeed. I've always commuted with a road bike, but I had lot of fun with the beefier tires and now I'm thinking I want to get a road gear range on a 29er with some slicks and start commuting with one.

So I have a couple questions;

1. Anybody recommend a cheaper 29er for commuting? Even though it isn't cheap, I really like the Haro Mary... (I'm a student, so...)
    2. I have a road bike with SS, so I was wondering how wide of tires one can get on road rims and ride safely, assuming I have a lot of frame clearance.
    3. I run 71 gear inches with 700x23c- what is a good mix for a 29er with fat tires?

Thanks for any and all help in the matter....

Yayer!
    Hey, I run a Surly Karate Monkey as a commuter rig...Im not sure if you would consider the KM a "cheap" build or not for a commuter. If I were in your shoes looking for a good 29er commuter I would spend the money on a Redline Monocog 29er....they are a decent rig for the money you will spend and you can hook it up with racks no problemo. Here is how I am rolling:

Broken ankles = bullshit!

Ovaries on the Outside
    My bike is a KM I bought on craigslist- what is your gear ratio? Think you get going pretty quick?

Yayer!
    Quote Originally Posted by umarth
    My bike is a KM I bought on craigslist- what is your gear ratio? Think you get going pretty quick?
    sweet man! The KM is a stellar bike to commute with, I am really glad I decided to go that route. I run a 36-18 setup so its a 2:1 ratio....most people might think that is a pretty flat ratio to work with but for my terrain its really awesome as I run an average of 16 MPH which is moving for a single speed setup.

Fat boy Mod Moderator