mtbr member
    Mar 2006

Stem length on small Meta 5

I'm planning on building a small Meta 5.I was wondering what would be a good stem length on a small frame for general trail riding. I'm 5.6'. Thanks for all your advice.

mtbr member
    50 - 60mm would be great for Meta.. but basically, it will depends on your inseam and your riding position.. if it doesn't fit well, u still can adjust from your saddle..

mtbr member
    Mar 2006
    Thanks 4nd! My inseam is 29" I also like my riding position not too stretched out. Would the 50 or 60 mm stem effect climbing ability? Thanks

mtbr member
    I come from the shorter stem is better club (I've been racing DH for over 12 years), but on a 140mm travel trail bike I'd run a 90mm stem. You can run shorter if you feel the bike is too long, but for good climbing geometry I'd run a 90. On ou Meta 6 demo we have a 70mm and on my DH bikes I run 50s.
    Scott @ GO-RIDE.com
    Turner DHR
    Pivot Mach 6
    Giant Anthem 27.5
    Salsa Bear Grease C
    Lil Shredder 20" - son's

mtbr member
    i dont think stem length would effect much for climbing ability.. cause most effect u' will get from your fork travel length..

mtbr member
    Mar 2006
    Thanks guys. A friend is running 100mm on his small and i found it to be a tad short and tall (100X5) If I ran a 90X0 will it help bringing the front down a lot?

mtbr member
    Quote Originally Posted by Tayancycles
    Thanks guys. A friend is running 100mm on his small and i found it to be a tad short and tall (100X5) If I ran a 90X0 will it help bringing the front down a lot?