mtbr member
    May 2012

Need Help Planning Trip To Colorado In May

I plan on spending May 12th-24th riding trails in Colorado. I will be driving from Michigan, traveling in on 76 into Denver. I was told many trails will be snow covered still in early May. I was given the advice to head straight for Fruita, then Moab UT, then Durango CO to avoid snow covered trails.

Will trails still be snow covered in May?

What would be your ideal trip if you had 2 weeks to spend between Colorado and Moab, UT?

Any help is greatly appreciated!

Lastly, I will add that I am a bit of a planning fanatic, master excel spreadsheet, gps route, etc. I believe the rest of my trip should work out well, just looking for advice in CO/UT because of snow.

mtbr member
    Apr 2010
    I'm by no means a Colorado expert but have been to the places in Colorado you mentioned. I've been to Fruita the last weekend in April the last couple years and I can't foresee snow being an issue there in May. As far as Durango, I haven't followed their snowfall totals this year but I've been there in July and had snow at higher elevations. ** On your way to Durango, make sure you swing by Cortez and ride at Phil's World **which is hands down my favorite trail system I've ever ridden.

I've never been there and I'd guess that snow could possibly be an issue but there is supposedly some epic riding over at Crested Butte so you might want to look into that.

mtbr member
    May 2012
    Great, thanks for the advice! I will make sure to look into linking Cortez and Phil's World

mtbr member