Thread: Cortez

mtbr member
    Nov 2007

Cortez

wanted to solicit some opinions on Cortez as far as quality of local rides, length of season, proximity to other riding areas, access to skiing, rock climbing and how do you like living in Cortez.

mtbr member
    Apr 2010
    Well, I'm no expert on Cortez as I only ride there once a year on my annual trek to Durango. But for mountain biking, you have Phil's World, the Boggy Draw trail system (10 miles north in Dolores) and Sand Canyon that are all super FUN!! The only (2) other thoughts I can contribute about Cortez is "One Stop Tacos" make excellent street tacos and the local bike shop, Kokopelli Bike & Board is pretty darn cool. A great selection and super helpful staff. Quite frankly, I was shocked to see that high quality of a shop in Cortez.

As far as access to other areas, Durango is 45 minutes east and has a plethora of riding opportunities. Besides Ski Hesperus (a tiny, 2 lift "resort" 34 miles east of Cortez), Durango Mountain resort (aka Purgatory) is the closest real ski resort that I know of to Cortez at *about* 60-90 minutes away and then there is Wolf Creek east of Purgatory. I've never been there in the Winter but I'm guessing it would be too far for a day trip in wintery conditions?

mtbr member
    Jun 2009
    I live in Telluride and we're maybe 90 minutes from Cortez (if you don't mind $100 lift tickets). Easily a day trip.
    Home Page - Mountain Bike Adventure Maps from Big Loop Mountain Bike Maps - Colorado Mountain Bike Trails
    That link is to the best trail map I've found for the area. K2 covered the major areas, but there are a few more trails, especially north of Dolores.
    I don't know much about rock climbing; there's some in T-ride but I would think there are closer options as well.