mtbr member

Write up on dismatling a moutain bike?

Hey guys, noob here, apoligize if Ive missed the thread somewhere but I tried searching first.

Anyways, I dont like big brand names plastered all over my stuff and I want to take the whole bike apart and strip the paint off the frame. I dont have much experience with building bicyles or taking them apart so I was looking for a walkthrough of the process. I have lots of experience with working on scooters and cars so I do have those abilities.

Oh, my buddy used to be a bike mechanic so he's going to help me get it tuned once it's all ready to go back together.

Any help is much appreciated.

Thanks

..ouch
    Quote Originally Posted by 0001 0 00001
    Anyways, I dont like big brand names plastered all over my stuff and I want to take the whole bike apart and strip the paint off the frame. I dont have much experience with building bicyles or taking them apart so I was looking for a walkthrough of the process. I have lots of experience with working on scooters and cars so I do have those abilities.

Oh, my buddy used to be a bike mechanic so he's going to help me get it tuned once it's all ready to go back together.
    Dismantling is easy.. it's the reassembly part that will get you.

I'd recommend the Barnett's Manual if you want to rebuild it yourself and also continue to do your own bike maintenance. You will most likely end up having to get at least a few bike specific tools, specifically for your cranks and your headset cups.

If you're not interested in being your own mechanic though, and this is going to be a one time thing, I'd just have your LBS help you out. Considering it's a fully built bike (no cables or steerer tube to cut, no wheels to build) they shouldn't charge much for just stripping it down putting it back together after.

mtbr member
    Thanks thump. I guess that will be a last resort considering its price. Maybe the library will have a copy.

Is there an online write up that might suffice?