Thread: Wow...I suck.

mtbr member
    Dec 2005

Wow...I suck.

Took my second ride. Did the Apex trail. It was icy, but it really didn't matter. I am WAY slow. I had runners passing me uphill. The lack of strength prevented me from tackling the tougher uphill sections. I hope the nice weather down here holds up, so I can get the darn legs back.

mtbr member
    Quote Originally Posted by jtomasik
    Took my second ride. Did the Apex trail. It was icy, but it really didn't matter. I am WAY slow. I had runners passing me uphill. The lack of strength prevented me from tackling the tougher uphill sections. I hope the nice weather down here holds up, so I can get the darn legs back.
    Don't worry. I lived in Utah for 2 years before moving out here. I started riding there. I thought I was pretty good. The first trail in Colorado that I rode was apex. It nearly killed me the first time; I'd never ridden anything like it before. I must've gotten knocked off my bike 30 times on the climb.
    I still get passed by trail-runners climbing, particularly in technical areas. It's a lot easier for them to maintain a constant speed through the rough stuff. I wouldn't worry about it.

Gaa-zee-raaaa!
    Just think of it this way - the worse you suck, the faster you will improve.
    Now with more vitriol!

mtbr member
    Dec 2005
    Quote Originally Posted by Fat Elvis
    Don't worry. I lived in Utah for 2 years before moving out here. I started riding there. I thought I was pretty good. The first trail in Colorado that I rode was apex. It nearly killed me the first time; I'd never ridden anything like it before. I must've gotten knocked off my bike 30 times on the climb.
    I still get passed by trail-runners climbing, particularly in technical areas. It's a lot easier for them to maintain a constant speed through the rough stuff. I wouldn't worry about it.